Travel to and from CMCO zones not allowed, police permit required for essential services

Police manning a roadblock to restrict the movement of vehicles in this file photo.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Jan 12: Movement between zones under Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) is not allowed except for essential services where police permit is required.

The three zones are Kuching Zone (Kuching, Samarahan and Serian), Sibu Zone (Sibu and Sarikei) and Miri Zone (Miri).

However, inter-zone movement is allowed such as between Kuching, Samarahan and Serian.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its latest standard operating procedure (SOP) issued today, indicated that the number of passengers allowed in a private, government and company vehicles is based on the capacity of a vehicle.

However, high-risk individuals and children are discouraged from going to public and crowded places.

The number of people allowed in a vehicle for transportation of goods, essential services as well as for industries and economic activities catering for the supply chain is based on the commercial vehicle license registration.

All activities and services at airports and ports are allowed to operate as usual.

Public transport such as buses, express buses, ferries as well as e-hailing and taxi services are allowed to operate according to the hours issued in their license terms.

All vehicles used for industries, businesses and factories are allowed to operate including traveling across districts and states.

Food delivery services are allowed to operate from 6am to 10pm throughout the CMCO period.

Inter-state travel from Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Labuan into Sarawak will be required to obtain police permit as well.

It is also mandatory for all arrivals into Sarawak to undergo 14-days quarantine at designated facilities with swab tests to be done on second and 10th days of the quarantine. — DayakDaily