Trans-Borneo Highway project to start after contractor appointment finalised in 2024

Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof

KUCHING, Jan 4: Construction of the Trans-Borneo Highway project involving Miri, Limbang and Lawas will start as soon as the Ministry of Works appoints the contractor which is expected to be finalised in 2024.

Deputy Prime Minister Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof said the unity government is committed to continuing the Sarawak-Sabah Link Road (SSLR) project which is divided into two phases.

“SSLR Phase 1 covering Lawas-Long Lopeng junction is now 10 per cent completed, while SSLR Phase 2 and the Trans-Borneo Highway involving Miri-Limbang-Lawas is expected to start as soon as the contractor has been appointed by the Ministry of Works,” he said in a statement after the unity government’s Cabinet meeting in Putrajaya today.

Following the meeting, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced several decisions on Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63) including granting full autonomy to Sarawak and Sabah over development projects below RM50 million, reviewing to increase special grants under Article 112D and the handing over of gas supply regulatory power to Sabah.

Fadillah, who is also Minister of Plantation and Commodities, added that the government is also committed to continuing the Pan Borneo Highway project in Sarawak and Sabah which will gradually improve the road infrastructure network in the two Borneo States.

“The Pan Borneo Highway Sarawak project is now 91 per cent completed, while the Pan Borneo Sabah project has reached 72 per cent,” he said, with the government having agreed to expedite and approve additional allocation needed for the Sabah phase.

In addition, a meeting to finalise the increase of special grants under Article 112D will be chaired by Anwar in Kuching which is scheduled in February.

“All these prove that the government is committed and determined in resolving the outstanding matters related to MA63, uphold the spirit of MA63 and enhance infrastructure developments for the people in both Sarawak and Sabah,” Fadillah added. — DayakDaily