Johor’s Sultan Ibrahim elected 17th Agong, term begins Jan 31, 2024

Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar at the Istana Negara. Photo credit: Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar Facebook page

KUCHING, Oct 27: Johor Ruler Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar will be installed as the 17th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term, effective from Jan 31, 2024.

Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad in a statement said the election was held at the Special 263rd Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara today (Oct 27).

Sultan Ibrahim will replace Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah of Pahang, whose reign as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong will end on Jan 30, 2023.

The Malay rulers also elected the Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah as Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same term.

The special meeting presided by the Sultan of Terengganu Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin was attended by all Malay rulers, except Kelantan and Perlis.

Syed Danial said both houses of Parliament have been notified of the result of the election in accordance with Paragraph 3, Part 1, Third Schedule of the Federal Constitution.

The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has also been notified. — DayakDaily