Hasbi and Henry grateful for trust to serve

Hasbi (left) and Henry are among the 11 Sarawakian MPs appointed to the new federal cabinet.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, March 9: It came as a total surprise for Limbang MP Hasbi Habibollah when it was announced he had been appointed as Transport Deputy Minister.

“I did not see it coming. I did not lobby for it, so I did not expect anything. But I will try my best to carry out the new responsibilities entrusted to me,” said Hasbi.

The Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) supreme council member told DayakDaily he will continue to serve faithfully as the MP for his constituency while at the same time, he will try his best to be a dutiful deputy minister.

“I have served the best I can for my area for the last 12 years. Now I am entrusted with something additional.

“With the same attitude and my experience, I hope to serve my new position in the same way,” said Hasbi.

He acknowledged that it would be hectic for Sarawakian MPs to serve as ministers or deputy ministers as on weekdays, they have to be in Putrajaya while on the weekends, they have to fly back to Sarawak to serve their constituents.

“I try first,” said the first time deputy minister, before expressing his appreciation to Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Meanwhile, another PBB supreme council member Lawas MP Datuk Henry Sum Agong when contacted, said they were seven of them from PBB who have been appointed into the cabinet today.

“We are all grateful to the prime minister because all in all, there are seven of us appointed. We are also grateful to our Chief Minister for his recommendations.”

Henry was appointed as Rural Development Deputy Minister.

Eleven Sarawakian MPs were appointed to Muhyiddin’s new cabinet today.

This includes nine out of the 18 MPs from the state-ruling Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

PBB leads the appointments with seven lawmakers, followed by one each from Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

The other two are from the new Perikatan Nasional coalition — Ali Biju (Saratok) and Willie Mongin (Puncak Borneo). — DayakDaily