Hajiji Noor sworn in as 16th Sabah Chief Minister

Hajiji takes his oath of office before Sabah Governor Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Juhar Mahiruddin. Credit: RTM

KUCHING, Sept 29: Perikatan Nasional (PN) Sabah chairman Datuk Seri Panglima Hajiji Noor has been sworn in as the 16th Sabah Chief Minister in an official swearing-in ceremony held at Istana Negeri, Sabah this morning.

Hajiji, 65, took his oath of office before Sabah Governor Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Juhar Mahiruddin, succeeding Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) president Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal following the state election last Satuday (Sept 26).

Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Bung Mokhtar Radin, Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star) president Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) vice-president Datuk Dr Joachim Gunsalam were also sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers.

Meanwhile, Hajiji also announced the change in portfolio for Bung Mokhtar from Local Government and Housing to Public Works.

Sabah Bersatu deputy chief Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun was appointed the Minister of Local Government and Housing as well as Second Finance Minister.

Jeffrey will also hold the portfolio as the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS), made up of PN, BN and PBS, won 38 seats to garner a simple majority to form the state government.

Out of 38 seats, PN won 17 seats followed by BN with 14 seats and PBS, seven.

The Warisan Plus pact won 32 seats, comprising 23 seats for Warisan, six for Democratic Action Party (DAP), two for Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and one for United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation (Upko). — DayakDaily