Tiang overthrows Wong in Pelawan with 100-vote majority

Michael Tiang

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Dec 18: Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) Michael Tiang has overthrown two-term assemblyman David Wong from Democratic Action Party (DAP) in N54 Pelawan.

According to data from the Election Commission of Malaysia’s (EC) website, Tiang won with a 100-vote majority, receiving 4,413 votes.

Dr Low Chong Nguan from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) and Tiew Yen Hong from Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) proved to be strong contenders in this match as they both scored over three thousand votes.

Dr Low garnered 3,757 votes, Tiew got 3,146, leaving only 302 votes for Janet Loh from Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi) who has lost her deposit.

Pelawan has, since 2011, been under the Opposition wing. — DayakDaily