SUPP to GPS component parties:  Don’t be termites, contest only in your traditional seats

Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian

KUCHING, Mar 4:  Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) urges all component parties within Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) not to be termites but eyeing only on their respective traditional seats in the upcoming Sarawak Election.

SUPP president Dato Sri Dr Sim Kai Hian said this in response to the recent statement of Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Vice President Dr Annuar Rapaee who clearly stated that PBB has no intention to contest in Bawang Assan, a seat traditionally allocated to SUPP by the ruling coalition.

Expressing appreciation, Dr Sim said Dr Annuar’s statement showed the close political rapport and cooperative trust between PBB and SUPP, following which he especially highlighted that “Bawang Assan is traditionally a SUPP seat”.

“Under GPS coalition’s cooperation and friendship spirit, it is best to let each member party to contest in their traditional seats in the coming election and to avoid any mistrust and split among each other. GPS should be united in fighting the opposition.

“In fact, fighting for another component party’s traditional seat should not be a culture in GPS because it brings more harm than good to the coalition, but sadly such issues always re-surface near an election period. 

“We should not allow such divisive culture to exist within GPS component parties,” said Dr Sim in a statement today.

Dr Sim who is also Batu Kawa assemblyman stressed that many strong leaders in GPS such as PBB Deputy President Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing as well as Dr Annuar all show “respect to their component parties on this issue”.

“Both Datuk Amar Uggah and Tan Sri James have mentioned numerous times that PBB and PRS will assist SUPP to win back Engkilili constituency. 

“Therefore, SUPP urges all GPS component parties to not be the termites in the coalition by creating any split dispute among each other, but instead to cooperate together to face our mutual enemies. Unity and trust are the foundations of a strong and successful political coalition such as in GPS,” said Dr Sim.

Dr Sim reiterated SUPP’s rights to contest in SUPP’s 20 traditional state seats and seven traditional parliamentary seats.

The 20 traditional state seats of SUPP are Padungan, Pending, Batu Lintang, Batu Kawah, Kota Sentosa, Batu Kitang, Opar,  Mambong, Engkilili, Simanggang,  Repok, Meradong, Bukit Assek, Dudong, Bawang Assan, Pelawan, Tanjung Batu, Piasau, Pujut and Senadin.

The seven parliamentary seats are Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Miri, Sibu, Lanang, Serian and Sarikei. — DayakDaily