Sultan Ibrahim sworn in as Malaysia’s 17th King

Sultan Ibrahim has been crowned Malaysia's 17th King on Jan 31, 2024. Photo credit: Jabatan Penerangan Malaysia

KUCHING, Jan 31: His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim of Johor was sworn in today as Malaysia’s new King in a traditional ceremony at the Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur.

According to national news agency Bernama, the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, also took the oath of office as Deputy King during the same ceremony.

Their Majesties were elected to the office, respectively, by the Malay Rulers at the 263rd (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers in October last year, and will serve for a five-year term beginning today.

Malaysia is among 43 nations that have a constitutional monarchy.

However, what sets Malaysia apart is its unique rotational system of electing a king from among nine Malay rulers.

“Sultan Ibrahim, 65, and Sultan Nazrin Shah, 67, took their oaths and signed the instruments of office before the other Malay Rulers from Terengganu, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, and Kedah, the Regents of Johor, Pahang, and Perlis, and Tengku Mahkota of Kelantan, Governors of Melaka, Penang, Sabah, and Sarawak, as well as dignitaries from the executive, legislative, and judiciary.

“The ceremony at the Balairung Seri (Throne Room) was held during the 264th (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers presided over by Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin of Terengganu.

“Sultan Ibrahim also signed the proclamation of assuming the office of the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Sultan Nazrin, the office of the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong,” as reported by Bernama.

It was also reported that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim read out the instrument of the proclamation, officially announcing Sultan Ibrahim’s ascension to the federal throne as Malaysia’s new head of state in accordance with the laws and the Federal Constitution.

Datuk Munir Md Salleh, the Istana Negara Religious Officer, recited the ‘doa’ (prayers) in order to seek Allah’s blessings or the well-being of Their Majesties, the people, and the nation.

Sultan Ibrahim took over from Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, who concluded his tenure as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong yesterday (Jan 30). — DayakDaily