Othman Abdillah is Sedar’s nominee for Petra Jaya parliamentary seat

Datuk Othman Abdillah

KUCHING, June 19: Parti Sedar Rakyat Sarawak (Sedar) will be fielding its president, Datuk Othman Abdillah in the Petra Jaya constituency in the coming 15th general elections against the presumed Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) candidate, incumbent Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusuf.

Othman in a statement today said he also looks to be the party’s candidate for the Samariang constituency, which is one of the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) seats within the Petra Jaya parliamentary constituency.

“Sarawak’s interests can only be strongly represented by a Sarawak party that has no political obligations to any other due to past affiliations or present power play.


“The erosion of Sarawak’s rights happened during the Barisan Nasional (BN) era while talks after talks of restoring those lost rights have failed until the end of its reign. At the same time, the dismal failure of Pakatan Harapan (PH) to make good on its promises cements our distrust as to the sincerity of all ‘Semananjung’ parties,” he said in a statement today.

Othman said Sedar believes that the present political structure at Federal Government level with Umno being the biggest and most influential party in government bears significant resemblance to what Sarawak subjected itself to during BN rule.

He claimed that Sarawak’s affairs were not in the best of hands, questioning what would GPS’ alternative plan be if the new consultative committee failed; and whether the “kingmaker” turn “beautiful lady” would file for divorce, referencing the chief minister’s statement on June 12.

“Thus, Sarawak is facing a regressive situation in the battle for the restoration of its rights, and Sedar cannot hold back but to go all out and contest in all 31 parliamentary seats in a bid to provide the people of Sarawak with real representation in Parliament.

“The party has received overwhelming support to do so following its announcement last week to contest in all 82 DUN seats in the upcoming 12th State Election (PRN12),” he added.–DayakDaily