More offshore O&G field discoveries by Petronas, says Abang Johari

Abang Johari delivering his speech prior to the earthbreaking for the Batang Lupar bridge today. Screenshot taken from TV Sarawak live streaming today (March 23, 2021)

By Adrian Lim & Chris Bishop

SEBUYAU, Mar 23: There is potential for more offshore oil and gas (O&G) field discoveries by national oil corporation Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas).

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg revealed that the national oil corporation has revealed the information to him during a courtesy call yesterday.

“Petronas will make an official announcement later.

“Two (oilfields) have been discovered and maybe there will be more,” he said in his speech prior to the earth-breaking ceremony for the Batang Lupar bridge here today.

Meanwhile, at a press conference, the chief minister explained that there could be new O&G discoveries besides those located in central Luconia, about 80km off the coast of Sarawak and the Baram Delta.

He said the state government will be conducting the mining for the O&G fields through Petroleum Sarawak Bhd (Petros).

In the meantime, Abang Johari asserted that the Sarawak government has rights to claim O&G revenue through the State Sales Tax (SST).

Abang Johari who is also the Finance and Economic Planning Minister added the federal government recognised the Oil Mining Ordinance (OMO), and the OMO and the Petroleum Development Act 1974 were also recognised by the state government.

On another note, he said the Batang Lupar bridge, the longest river-crossing bridge in Malaysia with a length of 4.8km, once completed will provide road connectivity to all residents along the coastal areas of Sarawak.

He is confident that the bridge together with uneven roads in Sadong Jaya and Asajaya will be paved and improved.

Abang Johari said this infrastructure development will open up new areas and provide opportunities for agriculture development such as farming of pineapple and corn for export.

Among those present at the earth-breaking ceremony were Deputy Chief Minister Tan Sri James Masing, Education, Science and Technological Research Minister Datuk Amar Michael Manyin Jawong, Assistant Minister of Infrastructure and Port Development Datuk Julaihi Narawi, Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, and Batang Lupar MP Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim. —DayakDaily