Members of Parliament from GPS seated with opposition MPs in Parliament

Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar

KUCHING, July 17: Members of Parliament (MPs) from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) are seated on the left side of the Dewan Rakyat together with all opposition MPs, said Santubong MP Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar.

He told DayakDaily yesterday that this was because GPS is not part of the ruling Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition; thus they have to sit with the other opposition parties.

For MPs from GPS, he said Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) senior vice-president Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof would be their leader, adding that subjects for debate would be decided based on consensus.

“We have agreed to appoint DS Fadillah, being the senior vice-president of PBB, to take charge. The division of subjects for debates is to be decided by consensus.

“I will lead the debate on Sarawak’s claim on financial provisions under the Constitution, namely Petronas, Oil Mining Ordinance 1958, Rules of the House, etc,” said Wan Junaidi.

He said GPS’ MPs hoped to make the federal government aware of Sarawak’s rights as enshrined in the Malaysia Agreement 1963, the Intergovernmental Agreement, and the Federal Constitution.

On the walkout of Barisan Nasional (BN) and PAS MPs yesterday, Wan Junaidi said it was staged to show their disappointment on the alleged non-compliance of the rules of the august House.

“It was a mild incident when compared to the past actions of PR (Pakatan Rakyat) before,” opined Wan Junaidi.

When Parliament convened yesterday after the May 9 polls, BN and PAS MPs walked out to show their displeasure over the appointment of Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof as Speaker of the House. Their contention is that his appointment should have been made known at least 14 days before Parliament convened. — DayakDaily