Federal govt can be formed by excluding Zahid’s faction in BN, but include MPs of small parties — Idris

Idris Buang

KUCHING, Nov 21: Sarawak Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker Datuk Idris Buang proposes a new combination for the formation of the federal government in the hope that the political impasse may have a solution.

He believed that the new federal government can be formed by combining the seats of the following coalitions or parties: Perikatan Nasional or PN (73), Barisan Nasional (BN) Team B (20), Gabungan Parti Sarawak or GPS (23), Gabungan Rakyat Sarawak or GRS (6), Parti Warisan Sabah or Warisan (3) and Parti Bangsa Malaysia (1).

The total sum of the seats won by these coalitions and parties is 126.

“This may increase to a grand total of 128 if two independents MPs join,” said Idris without naming the two MPs.

He said BN Team B consists of BN MPs who are still in BN in the opposition bloc. Without the need for them to resign, they can personally grant support to PN chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin to be the 10th prime minister of Malaysia.

“So there is no party-jumping issue. Article 43(2) of the (Federal) Constitution only requires the King to select any MP who, in His absolute opinion, commands the trust of the majority of MPs,” said Idris who is also Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) information chief and Muara Tuang assemblyman.

Federal Constitution Article 43(2) states: “The Cabinet shall be appointed as follows, that is to say:

(a) the Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall first appoint as Perdana Menteri (Prime Minister) to preside over the Cabinet a member of the House of Representatives who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of that House; and

(b) he shall on the advice of the Prime Minister appoint other Menteri (Ministers) from among the members of either House of Parliament;

but if an appointment is made while Parliament is dissolved a person who was a member of the last House of Representatives may be appointed but shall not continue to hold office after the beginning of the next session of Parliament unless, if he has been appointed Prime Minister, he is a member of the new House of Representatives, and in any other case he is a member either of that House or of the Senate.”

Meanwhile, GPS chairman Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg announced yesterday that the Sarawak coalition had agreed to work together with PN, BN and GRS to form the next federal government.

Abang Johari said Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who is leading PN will be the preferred prime minister candidate.

Following the 15th General Election, Pakatan Harapan holds 81 seats, PN has 73 seats under its belt, followed by BN (30), GPS (23), GRS (6), and other parties (8).

The proposal however, was denied by BN chairman Dato Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who claimed that the coalition has not entering into any agreement on forming the federal government with PN and had never at all consulted with GPS to agree to form the federal government with PN. — DayakDaily