AIFFA 2019 Opening Night reveals five nominees for each of the nine categories

Abdul Karim (second right) and Livan (right) doing the opening gimmick of AIFFA 2019 as Assistant Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture Datuk Lee Kim Shin (second left) and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Hii Chang Kee (left) look on.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, April 25: The jury of the Asean International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) 2019 announced the 29 films making it to the finals.

The nominations were announced during AIFFA 2019 Opening Night here on Thursday, which also featured a performance by local traditional-modern fusion band Nading Rhapsody.

There are awards in nine categories up for grabs, recognising the contribution of directors, director of photography, actors, writers and editors.

The five nominees for each category are as follows:

Best Film Editing:
Rina 2 (Brunei)
Tengkorak (Indonesia)
Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
Guang (Malaysia)
Song Lang (Vietnam)

Best Director of Photography:
Na Gyi – Mi (Myanmar)
Ipung Rachmat Syaiful – 27 Steps of May (Indonesia)
Bob Nguyen – Song Lang (Vietnam)
T M Malones – Baconaua (Philippines)
Cheng Ko Chin – Shuttle Life (Malaysia)

Best Screenplay:
27 Steps of May (Indonesia)
Crossroads: One Two Jaga (Malaysia)
Shuttle Life (Malaysia)
Signal Rock (Philippines)
Song Lang (Vietnam)

Best Supporting Actress:
Khouan Souliyabapha (Mina) – Rina 2 (Brunei)
Julie Tan – Wonder Boy (Singapore)
Eisaya Hosuwan – Bad Genius (Thailand)
Barbara Miguel – 1-2-3 Gasping for Air (Philippines)
Nattatida Damronhvisetpanit – Memories of New Years (Laos)

Best Actress:
Sangeeta Krishnasamy – Adiwiraku (Malaysia)
Maudy Koesnawdi – Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
Paing Phyoe Thu – Mi (Myanmar)
Elora Espano – Signal Rock (Philippines)
Raihaanun – 27 Steps of May (Indonesia)

Best Supporting Actor:
Amerul Affendi – Crossroad: One Two Jaga (Malaysia)
Verdi Soleiman – 27 Steps of May (Indonesia)
Isaac – Song Lang (Vietnam)
Ronwaldo Martin – Bhoy Intsik (Philippines)
A Linn Yaung – Shwe Kyar (Golden Lotus) (Myanmar)

Best Actor:
Chicco Jerikho – Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
Rosdeen Suboh – Crossroads: One Two Jaga (Malaysia)
Kristoffer King – Kristo (Philippines)
Remy Ishak – Pulang (Malaysia)
Shafiee Mostar – Hari Minggu Yang ke-4 (Brunei)

Best Director:
Joseph Israel Laban – Baconaua (Philippines)
Leon Le – Song Lang (Vietnam)
Chito Roni – Signal Rock (Philippine)
Ertanto Robby Soediskam – Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
Nam Ron – Crossroads: One Two Jaga (Malaysia)

Best Film:
Crossroads: One Two Jaga (Malaysia)
Ave Maryam (Indonesia)
Signal Rock (Philippines)
Mi (Myanmar)
Like an Old House (Vietnam)

Abdul Karim (third left) having a chat with international action movie icon Steven Seagal (second left) during the AIFFA 2019 Opening Night on Thursday.

Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah in a recorded speech welcomed all foreign participants and visitors participating in AIFFA 2019, encouraging them to enjoy their time in Kuching and other places in Sarawak.

“AIFFA 2019 marks another highlight in our Visit Sarawak Year calendar and we are extremely happy to welcome all our Asean delegates in Kuching.

“Sarawak is such a magnificent natural film setting and we look forward to seeing more of the state featured in many more international films,” he said.

AIFFA 2019 festival director Livan Tajang said AIFFA 2019 has grown to be a focal point of the Asean film industry.

“We have received hundreds of film submissions and we can certainly see that Sarawak has grown in visibility among international film makers,” she said.

The winners of each category will be announced during the AIFFA 2019 Gala Night on April 29 at Pullman Hotel here. — DayakDaily