SUPP to form special committee to see to manifesto implementation

From left to right: Foo, Wee, Lo, Chen, Dr Sim, Yap, and Sih giving the thumbs-up to the cameras.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Dec 12: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) will form a special committee to see to its candidates’ implementation of manifestos in the next five years.

SUPP operations director Datuk Matthew Chen said actions must come with the promises made to the people in each constituency contested by SUPP candidates under the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) ticket.

In the 12th Sarawak Election, GPS fielded 18 SUPP candidates in Padungan, Opar, Engkilili, Bukit Assek, Tanjung Batu, Pujut, Bawang Assan, Pelawan, Batu Kitang, Batu Kawah, Simanggang, Repok, Meradong, Piasau, Senadin, Pending, Batu Lintang, and Kota Sentosa.

“SUPP, this time, is forming a special committee to look into the implementation of each candidate’s manifesto and make sure that within the next five years, they have to carry out what they have promised to the people in each of their constituency (should they be elected).

“So, manifestos of all the 18 candidates will be strictly monitored by a special committee. That is how serious we are in our manifestos, unlike some political parties,” he told a press conference at SUPP headquarters here today.

Chen was referring to the local manifestos launched by each of the 18 candidates based on the needs of their respective constituencies.

He said these local manifestos also represent SUPP as the candidates’ promises reflect the promises made by SUPP.

“SUPP is very serious about our manifestos. Over the 62 years since SUPP’s establishment, we have never stopped our services (to the public).

“And we believe that without our sincere heart to serve the people, we would not be able to stand in Sarawak for 62 long years. So, we are serious in that,” he said.

Among others also present were candidates Dato Wee Hong Seng for Padungan, Milton Foo Tiang Wee for Pending, Sih Hua Tong for Batu Lintang, Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian for Batu Kawah, Wilfred Yap Yau Sin for Kota Sentosa, and Lo Khere Chiang for Batu Kitang. — DayakDaily