SUPP locks sights on delivering 27 seats to GPS

Dr Sim (left) presenting a token of appreciation to Abang Johari (second right) after the closing of the SUPP Special Convention at the SUPP headquarters in Kuching.

KUCHING, Oct 18: SUPP has set its sights on ensuring victory in the 27 state and Parliamentary seats it traditionally contests and delivering them to GPS and thus, continuing its long partnership with other GPS component parties to prosper Sarawak.

Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president Datuk Seri Datuk Sim Kui Hian asserted that his party would deliver 27 seats in total to Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) in the upcoming Sarawak state election (PRN12) including 20 Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUN) seats and seven Parliamentary seats.

“SUPP is willing to ensure victory in 20 traditional DUN seats and 7 Parliamentary seats to GPS so we can continue another 50 years of successful partnership to achieve ‘Sarawak Dreams’, a prosperous and strong Sarawak after 2030 and a ‘Bangsa Sarawak’,” he said.

Earlier on Aug 21, SUPP had announced its readiness to defend all its 20 traditional seats in PRN12.

The party revealed its mission as one of GPS’ component parties is to safeguard its own traditional seats including Opar, Mambong, Engkilili, Dudong and Bawang Assan.

Meanwhile, the seven Parliamentary seats traditionally contested by SUPP are Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Serian, Sarikei, Lanang, Sibu and Miri.

“I believe together with the solidarity of GPS and its component parties, we (Sarawak) can achieve our (rights of) MA63 (Malaysian Agreement 1963) and ‘Sarawak Dreams’ sooner than most people can realise.

“Once again, we fully support GPS president YAB (Datuk Patinggi) Abang Johari (Tun Openg) who will lead GPS into the 12th Sarawak election and continue as the Chief Minister of Sarawak (after) the election,” said Dr Sim in his speech during the closing ceremony of the 2020 SUPP Special Convention at SUPP headquarters here today.

The year 2020 marks the 50th anniversary of partnership between Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) and SUPP in forming a coalition and governing Sarawak since 1970. — DayakDaily