Stop dirty tricks, vote-buying rumours in Dudong, Tiong tells opponents

Dato Sri Tiong King Sing

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Dec 10: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) Dudong candidate Dato Sri Tiong King Sing has demanded that his political opponents stop using what he termed to be “dirty tricks” of spreading vote-buying rumours to achieve their goals and tainting the election in the process.

Tiong denied any involvement in vote-buying after rumours and messages began to spread across villages and longhouses in the Dudong constituency of RM500 cash handouts for one vote and RM1,000 for each longhouse door.

“When visiting Dudong areas, I was asked about this including me giving away grass-cutting equipment. There are all kinds of stories going around.

“Some were told to put their names in to get the cash handouts. Longhouse folks showed me (messages) that one pintu (longhouse door) will receive RM1,000,” he said on social media today.

The authorities should check on this issue and take prompt action, he added.

Tiong told the Malay, Iban and Chinese communities that GPS and himself will not buy votes nor will they resort to such unethical tactics to get the people’s support.

Having been a five-term Bintulu MP since 1999, the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) president said he has never bought a single vote or given such promises in an election.

“I hope the people can evaluate themselves whether GPS and I have the ability to serve and fight for the interests of the people.

“There is no need for me to say more of my track record in Bintulu so I leave it to the people to evaluate and find the answers.

“Make a wise choice by giving yourself, GPS and especially me a chance this Dec 18 to serve Dudong,” he called on.

The N52 Dudong seat which will see an eight-cornered tussle will be one of the most keenly-watched battles in this 12th Sarawak Election, which goes to the polls on Dec 18.

Tiong will be up against five candidates from the Opposition parties and two independents.

The seven are Wong Hie Ping of Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Jane Lau Sung Yee of Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK), Julius Enchana of Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB), Paul Ling Fung of DAP, Josephine Lau Kiew Peng of Parti Aspirasi Rakyat Sarawak (Aspirasi) as well as independents Fadhil Mohd Isa and Engga Uncat. — DayakDaily