Senadin: GPS-SUPP’s Lee Kim Shin faces contenders from DAP, PBDSB, PBK and PSB

From left: Marcus (DAP), Ngieng (PBK), Lee (GPS-SUPP), Lee (PSB) and Bobby (PBDSB) at the N72 Senadin nomination centre.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Brad Rantayy

MIRI, Dec 6: N72 Senadin incumbent Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin of Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) will be in a five-cornered fight for the seat in Sarawak’s 12th election scheduled for December 18.

Lee will be facing off against former school principal Marcus Lejau of the Democratic Action Party (DAP), Bobby William of Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB), Eric Ngieng Sheng Chung of Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK), and Lee Tze Ha of Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

Earlier today, first to be arrive at the nomination centre at Dewan Interim of the Miri Industrial Training Institute (ILP) to submit candidacy forms was PBDSB president Bobby at 8am, followed by Tze Ha (PSB) who is formerly from SUPP, and PBK’s Ngieng.

An independent aspiring candidate Chieng Leh Liew arrived unexpectedly at the nomination centre at 9.38am to submit his nomination form.

However, Chieng’s nomination form was rejected at 10.10 am because both his proposer and seconder are not from Senadin.

Kim Shin, 71, arrived at the nomination centre around 8.40am accompanied by his proposer Dato Sri Lau Kiu Kiong and seconder Cr Julaihi Mohamad, followed by Marcus, 61, five minutes later, to submit their forms to the returning officer Monica Lenya.

In Sarawak’s 11th State election in 2016, Kim Shin won the seat which he has held since 1996, with 10,683 votes (a majority of 3,538 votes) against his opponents Bob Baru Langub (DAP) who garnered 7,145 votes and Philemon John Edah (PBDSB) who netted 329 votes.

Senadin is a Chinese-majority urban seat. SUPP which is one of four component parties under Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) is also eyeing Pujut, Piasau, Batu Kawah, Kota Sentosa, Padungan, Batu Kitang, Pending and Batu Lintang. — DayakDaily