Schools term for 2021 to commence Jan 20 onwards

Mohd Radzi explaining the new school term during a press conference this afternoon. Screenshot taken from Radio Television Malaysia (RTM) live streaming.

By Adrian Lim

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 12: The new term of the academic year 2021 for schools in Malaysia will commence on January 20, as announced previously by the Education Ministry.

Senior Minister Education Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin said however, the methods of studies will be different for states under the Movement Control Order (MCO), Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) and Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO).

“All students in CMCO and RMCO states will be required to attend classes starting from January 20.

“For Form One student in CMCO and RMCO states, it will be face-to-face classes, as for Form Two and Form Three, lessons will be carried out based on learning at homes until March 8,” he said during a press conference today.

“From pre-school until Standard Six, they will need to go to school,” he added.

Mohd Radzi explaining the mechanism of how the new school term will operate in different MCO areas during a press conference. Screenshot taken from Radio Television Malaysia (RTM) live streaming

Mohd Radzi said students sitting for public examinations for instance Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) and Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM) will need to attend physical classes first.

In the meantime schools in MCO areas will be closed and priority is for students sitting for public examinations to attend classes.

He stressed that private institutions of higher learning in CMCO and RMCO areas are not allowed to conduct face-to-face classes and tuition classes in MCO states are also disallowed.

However, relaxation will be given to tuition centres conducting classes for students who are sitting for public examinations to operate.

Yesterday, Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the several states in Malaysia will be imposed with MCO, CMCO and RMCO starting from tomorrow (January 13) until January 26.

Sarawak and Perlis was placed under the RMCO. — DayakDaily