Police permit not required for inter-state arrivals from Dec 7

File photo for illustration purposes only.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Dec 6: Individuals entering Sarawak from other states do not have to apply for a permit from the Royal Malaysia Police from December 7 onwards.

The decision was announced by the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a press statement today.


The committee added the police has issued 11 compound notices for those who violated the standard operating procedures (SOPs) in Sarawak with four notices in Kuching followed by three in Kota Samarahan, two in Mukah and one each in Miri and Betong.

SDMC also revealed the Local Government and Housing Ministry had issued 78 written notices under various local councils for SOP violations, including 28 notices by the Sibu Municipal Council, Padawan Municipal Council (24), Marudi District Council (12), Bintulu Development Authority (8), Kuching South City Commission (3) and Serian District Council.

Meanwhile, traffic police had checked 1,016 vehicles through seven roadblocks in six districts in Sarawak. There were two roadblocks in Lawas, and one each in Lundu, Bau, Serian, Sri Aman and Lubok Antu. — DayakDaily