Petroleum Advisory and Coordination Committee to facilitate devt of S’wak’s O&G industry

Awang Tengah (seated centre) with other members in a group photo during PACC inaugural meeting on March 29, 2023.

KUCHING, March 31: The Petroleum Advisory and Coordination Committee (PACC) will allow Sarawak ministries and agencies to review and coordinate policy development and regulations on oil and gas matters.

According to a media release issued today, Deputy Premier of Sarawak Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan chaired PACC’s inaugural meeting on March 29.

The PACC was formalised by Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg in January this year to facilitate the development of Sarawak’s oil and gas industry.

Among others, the committee will facilitate internal alignment and endorsement for Sarawak’s strategic and growth projects related to petroleum, including Sarawak Gas Roadmap (SGR) projects and review reports from respective PACC committees as well to play an advisory role to the Premier on the appropriate direction for the Sarawak Oil and Gas Agenda.

During the meeting, Awang Tengah and the committee members discussed the existing collaborative framework under the Commercial Settlement Agreement (CSA) between the Sarawak government and Petroliam Nasional Berhad (Petronas), which could improve the synergy of the workgroups comprising Sarawak ministries, agencies and Petronas.

This included enabling more effective consultation regarding policy matters and activities towards further participation of Petroleum Sarawak Berhad (Petros) in upstream activities, security of domestic gas supply for industries as well as power, business and investment opportunities for Sarawak companies in Petronas’ global and domestic operations, human capital development for Sarawakians and corporate social responsibility (CSR) programmes.

Pcomprisesp of 11 senior members representing Sarawak ministries, key government agencies and government-linked companies with jurisdiction and expertise on the Sarawak oil and gas matters.

Apart from Awang Tengah, who is the chairman, the other members are Dato Sri Dr Wan Lizozman Wan Omar (Sarawak Financial Secretary), Dato Sri Talat Mahmood Abdul Rashid (Sarawak Attorney General), Datu Dr Muhammad Abdullah Zaidel (Deputy State Secretary of Economic Planning and Development), Datu Sharbini Suhaili (group chief executive officer of Sarawak Energy Berhad), Datu Zaidi Mahdi (permanent secretary of Ministry of Natural Resources and Urban Development), Janin Girie (group chief executive officer of Petros), Dzulkornain Masron (permanent secretary of Ministry of International Trade, Industry and Investment Sarawak), Jafri Lias (permanent secretary of Ministry of Utility and Telecommunication Sarawak), Abg Ahmad Abg Morni (permanent secretary of Ministry of Energy and Environmental Sustainability Sarawak) and Lester Matthew (director of Economic Planning Unit Sarawak). — DayakDaily