PBB names four new VPs

From left: Abdul Karim, Dr Abdul Rahman, Julaihi and Dr Annuar celebrate their victory after the announcement at BCCK, Kuching.

KUCHING, Feb 10: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) today named its four new vice-presidents for its Bumiputera wing after seven nominations.

The successful candidates are Assistant Minister of Coastal Road Datuk Julaihi Narawi with 770 votes, Assistant Minister of Housing and Public Health Dr Annuar Rapaee with 764 votes, Assistant Minister of Rural Electricity Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi with 719 votes and Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah with 698 votes.

The two with the lowest votes who did not make it were Assistant Minister of Urban Planning, Land Administration and Environment Datu Len Talif Salleh with 481 votes and Minister in the Chief Minister’s Office (Integrity and Ombudsman) Datuk Talib Zulpilip with 329 votes.

Julaihi who managed to defend his post with the highest number of votes said the contest for the posts was a friendly contest as all were friends.

“In PBB we all work together and support each other regardless of who wins on not. As such I give my thanks to the top leaders who have supported me all this while and I promise to do my very best to serve the party as well as the people of Sarawak, particularly the rural folks who are hungry for development,” he said after the results were announced by the election chairman Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar at the Borneo Convention Centre Kuching here this evening.

The other incumbents were Talib who failed to defend his post, and Kalaka assemblyman Datuk Abdul Wahab Aziz who did not defend his post. — DayakDaily