O&G SST, DBOS are 2 of Sarawak’s income streams, Abang Jo’s brainchildren

Uggah delivering his speech during the PBB Women and Youth Wings general assembly at BCCK here today (June 17, 2022).

By Ling Hui, Karen Bong & Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, June 17: The imposition of the five per cent State Sales Tax (SST) on Sarawak’s oil and gas (O&G) resources and the Development Bank of Sarawak (DBOS) are two of Sarawak’s new income streams in recent years.

Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said these two major revenue generation channels are the brainchildren of the Premier of Sarawak Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Uggah said Abang Johari had thought of the ideas, which have now been implemented, with the intention to ensure every corner of Sarawak is developed with basic infrastructure and facilities.

“He (Abang Johari) created a policy, passed a law to allow Sarawak to implement SST on crude oil and liquified natural gas. It’s not easy to go to court, but with his determination, he continued on and his dream became a reality.

“SST was implemented, and from Jan 1, 2019 up until today, Sarawak has collected a total of RM8.52 billion in revenue, not just millions,” said Uggah, who is also Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) deputy president.

Touching on DBOS, he said it was formed as a development bank to assist Sarawak in raising funds without having to wait for allocations from Putrajaya.

“It is a form of alternative financing, part of YAB Premier’s revenue reengineering plan. Up to today, DBOS has approved RM9.7 billion worth of funds to the Sarawak government for infrastructure development.

“With the additional revenue, the Sarawak government’s initiatives to accelerate local development were then implemented,” he said when officiating at the PBB Women and Youth Wings general assembly at BCCK here today.

Among other dignitaries present were PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, PBB senior vice presidents Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof and Datuk Amar Michael Manyin Jawong, PBB permanent chairman Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Nasar, PBB secretary general Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi, PBB Women chief Dato Sri Fatimah Abdullah, and PBB Youth chief Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu. — DayakDaily