New court premises proposed for Limbang, Sri Aman, Mukah and Kapit

Wan Junaidi (centre) speaks during the press conference while Chief Registrar of the Federal Court of Malaysia, Datuk Ahmad Terrirudin Mohd Salleh (left) and Deputy Director General (Policy and Development) of Legal Affairs Division, Abdul Aziz Mohd Johdi look on.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Jan 9: New court premises have been proposed to be set up in Limbang, Sri Aman, Mukah and Kapit to accommodate the increasing number of cases.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Dato Sri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said this is part of the efforts by his ministry to upgrade judicial facilities in Sabah and Sarawak.

He said every division should at least have its own court premises which houses specific places for court witnesses, public waiting areas, courtrooms, judges’ chambers, separate access for judges to enter the courtroom, and more.

“I am still shocked that many court proceedings in Sarawak presently are held in buildings shared with other government departments and in unorganised environments such that the judge is sharing the same access into the courtroom as the public.

“Therefore, I urge both Sarawak and Sabah State governments to prepare a list of their needs and we will discuss thoroughly on upgrading judicial facilities,” he said at a press conference held at the Kuching Court Complex today.

He disclosed that the proposed new projects are being considered by the Economic Planning Unit under the Prime Minister’s Department.

Wan Junaidi further stressed that this matter is not a question of special care for Sarawak but rather to improve judicial facilities required for the judicial branch to function as one of three principles in the separation of powers adopted by Malaysia.

He also said the government has approved a total of 14 projects to upgrade, renovate and repair State court buildings with an allocation of RM9,212,700 under the 12th Malaysia Plan (12MP).

These projects include the Kuching Court Complex, Bintulu Court Complex, Miri Court Complex, Kota Samarahan Court, Sibu Court and Sarikei Court. ― DayakDaily