Ismail Sabri sworn in as 9th Prime Minister

Ismail Sabri signing the instruments of appointment during the swearing in ceremony broadcasted via RTM livestream on Facebook today (Aug 21, 2021).

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 21: Bera MP Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob took his oath of office as the ninth Prime Minister of Malaysia before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah at Istana Negara today.

The swearing-in took place at Balai Singgahsana Kecil (Minor Throne Room) at 2.30pm.

Present to grace the ceremony was Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah.

The King appointed Ismail Sabri as the new prime minister in accordance with Articles 40(2)(a) and 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

Ismail Sabri, clad in a black baju Melayu with gold and black coloured kain samping, was accompanied by his wife, Datin Seri Muhaini Zainal Abidin, who was wearing a light purple traditional baju kurung.

After taking his oath, Ismail Sabri signed the instruments of appointment which was then attested by Chief Justice Tun Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat and Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Zuki Ali.

Among the political leaders present were former prime ministers Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, United Malays National Organisation (Umno) president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong, Parti Islam Se-Malaysia (Pas) president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) chairman Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Ismail, 61, who is the Umno vice-president, was named for the prime ministership after he had obtained the support of 114 MPs out of 220 MPs, beating the other candidate Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Ismail Sabri was the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defence of the previous Perikatan Nasional (PN) federal government which ruled from March 10, 2020 until Aug 16, 2021.

He succeeded PN leader Muhyiddin who had resigned as Prime Minister on Aug 16, 2021, after losing majority support in Parliament which resulted in the collapse of the PN government. — DayakDaily