Don’t be surprised if another three to four clusters in Kuching, says Dr Sim

Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian

KUCHING, May 7: Don’t be surprised if another three to four clusters are yet to be announced in Kuching, said Housing and Local Government Minister Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian.

Hinting this, Dr Sim advised the public not to be deceived by the low number of 26 Covid-19 cases reported in Kuching yesterday (May 6).

“From the local authority (PBK) Kuching reports last few days with a few repeated locations (involving workplaces and families as schools are closed), I will not be surprised that at least three to four clusters (with more than five positive cases involving more than one family) are yet to be announced,” he shared in his Facebook posting yesterday.

Dr Sim emphasised that he had informed the local authority in Kuching, State Health Department (JKNS), Ministry of Health (MOH) and all federal agencies that the announcement of cluster in timely manner as soon as possible is a must because it is not only of public interest, but of public health safety.

On the same note, he is looking forward to the implementation of Hotspots Identification for Dynamic Engagement (HIDE) system on the MySejahtera application in Sarawak.

“Together with the locations of exposure of Covid-19 (assessed by medical public health specialists) of important public interest that is announced with daily State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) press statement, all of us will be able to assess area of Covid-19 risk (do our part and play our role) and be able to allow the economy sectors to operate with more confidence and (in) safe (manner),” he added.

On May 6, SDMC disclosed in a press statement that Sarawak recorded a total of 391 new positive Covid-19 cases, in which 252 cases (or 64.45 per cent) were detected in Sibu (88), Bintulu (55), Miri (50), Kapit (33) and Kuching (26).

Other districts that reported new cases on the same day were Selangau (23), Sri Aman (19), Samarahan (11), Kanowit (11), Sarikei (10), Mukah (10), Pakan (8), Julau (7), Subis (6), Serian (6), Meradong (5), Tebedu (5), Bau (4), Sebauh (3), Tatau (3), Song (3), Saratok (2), Betong (1), Daro (1) and Belaga (1). — DayakDaily