Travellers from countries with temporary travel restrictions not allowed to travel to other destinations in Sarawak before completing quarantine period

File photo for illustration purposes

KUCHING, Dec 11: Travellers (citizens and long-term visit pass holders) arriving from countries subjected to temporary travel restrictions are not allowed to continue travelling to other destinations within Sarawak until their quarantine period is complete.

According to Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today, under the newly updated standard operating procedures (SOPs), this includes travellers who have a history of travelling to these countries; South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Malawi in the last 14-days.

This is in line with the SOPs set by the Ministry of Health (MOH) after the eight countries have been imposed temporary travel restrictions starting Nov 27, 2021, including five other countries that have also reported the spread of the Omicron variant, namely the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, France, and Norway.

The new SOPs outlined by the committee also requires travellers to perform the Covid-19 detection test (RT-PCR) two days before their departure from the eight countries, applying for entry via the EnterSarawak system, filling out the e-Health Declaration (eHDF) form, as well as taking their RT-PCR test on arrival at ‘First Point of Entry’ and undergo a mandatory quarantine for 14-days at the designated quarantine station regardless of their vaccination status.

Apart from that, travellers are not allowed to be quarantined at home. Their RT-PCR test result on the 12th day must be negative before being granted the termination permission from their quarantine period.

A risk assessment will also be conducted on them on the 14th day. An extension of the quarantine period will be imposed if necessary.

Meanwhile, SDMC said that travellers from other countries or have any history of travelling abroad 14 days before entering Sarawak must conduct their Covid-19 RT-PCR test two days before they depart from their originated country.

They are also required to apply for their entry into the State through the EnterSarawak system, filling in the eHDF form, conduct their RT-PCR Covid-19 test during arrival, undergo a compulsory seven-day quarantine period for those with complete vaccinations and a 10-day quarantine period for those who has not completed their vaccination, at the designated quarantine centres.

The committee emphasised that travellers also must conduct their RT-PCR test on the fifth day (for those in the seven-day quarantine period) and on the eighth day (for those in the 10-day quarantine period). In addition, a risk assessment will be conducted on them on their last day of the quarantine period, with the possibility of quarantine extension if they are found to be symptomatic.

SDMC stressed that travellers from abroad must declare their travel history to the health screening officer. Strict legal action will be taken if they provide false information, fail to provide information on their health status or declare their previous travel history. ― DayakDaily