Terms of councillors including council chairmen extended to Dec 31, 2022

Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, June 16: All 758 councillors across Sarawak whose term were expiring at the end of June will have their term extended until the end of the year.

According to Public Health, Housing and Local Government Minister Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian, their terms which will be ended on June 30, 2022 have been extended to Dec 31, 2022.

He told DayakDaily that the decision was made by the Sarawak Cabinet today.

The terms of these batch of councillors of 24 local authorities were supposed to end on June 30, 2021. Their terms however, were extended in 2021 for another year, which means the new expiry date is June 30, 2022.

Under normal circumstances, local councillors are appointed by the Sarawak government and their appointments usually last two years.

Following the blanket decision to extend the terms of service of all councillors, the terms of council chairmen of various local authorities will also automatically be stretched to another half a year.

This means council chairmen of all 24 local authorities including the more populated municipalities such as Padawan Municipal Council (MPP) chairman Lo Khere Chiang, Miri City Council (MCC) chairman Adam Yii and Sibu Municipal Council (SMC) chairman Clarence Ting will continue to helm their respective councils for another six months. — DayakDaily