Tanjung Piai result suggests non-Malay voters open to BN-PAS coalition, says Masing

Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Nov 17: Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing opines the Barisan Nasional (BN)’s victory in the Tanjung Piai by-election shows the UMNO-PAS coalition is not seen as too Malay-centric by non-Malays.

To him, BN’s win is a prelude to the 15th General Election.

“It’s a prelude to GE15. The UMNO-PAS (United Malays National Organisation-Parti Islam Se-Malaysia) coalition will now be seen as not too Malay-centric by non-Malay voters and that there is nothing to fear from the coalition of two Malay parties,” according to Masing in a press statement last night.

“I am not surprised by the landslide victory by BN over PH (Pakatan Harapan) at the Tanjung Piai by-election. The formula of putting an MCA ‘calon’ (candidate) fully backed by UMNO-PAS is a good strategy,” opined the Deputy Chief Minister.

Another reason for BN to win big was because of PH’s unfulfilled promises were made during the last general election, and the latter paid the price at Tanjung Piai.

“PH leaders didn’t take non-fulfilment of their GE14 (14th General Election) promises seriously,” he added, citing Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as saying the PH GE14 Manifesto is not the Bible when the latter was questioned about the unkept promises.

Masing believed sarcasm in politics is outdated as what people want to see in politicians are honesty and sincerity.

“…honesty is the best policy. Wit and sarcasm are not wanted anymore. Sincerity and honesty are the two human characteristics which the people want,” said Masing.

In the Tanjung Piai by-election, BN candidate Wee Jeck Seng won by a majority of 15,086 votes, scoring 25,466 votes ahead of his closest contender PH’s Karmaine Sardini who garnered 10,380 votes.

Meanwhile, Gerakan’s Wendy Subramaniam managed to get 1,707 votes while Parti Barisan Jemaah Islamiah (Berjasa) candidate Datuk Dr Badhrulhisham Abdul Aziz polled 850 votes.

Independents Dr Ang Chuan Lock and Faridah Aryani Abd Ghaffar garnered 350 and 30 votes respectively. — DayakDaily