Sohniya Chandra scores hole-in-one on Day 2 of 22nd Sarawak International Junior Golf Tourney in Miri

Sohniya Chandra (third left) celebrates together with other golfers and officials at the Sarawak Premier Cup 22nd Sarawak International Junior Golf Championship 2022 at the Eastwood Valley Golf and Country Club in Miri.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Nov 30: Sohniya Chandra Mohan from the Malaysia Amateur Ladies Golf Association (MALGA) stole the limelight on the second day of the Sarawak Premier Cup 22nd Sarawak International Junior Golf Championship 2022 after she achieved a hole-in-one.

According to a press release issued by the Sarawak Golf Association, the 17-year-old golfer achieved the ace at the Par 3 Hole 4 of Eastwood Valley Golf and Country Club in Miri where this year’s event was being held.

Also present to witness Sohniya’s feat were her team mates Alya Afza Hazari, Isabelle Ling Xin En, and Jillian Kuk from Singapore.

The prize for the hole-in-one achievers is worth RM2,000 of items redeemable at LT Shop located at the clubhouse.

Meanwhile, Sarawak’s top junior golfer, Malcolm Ting Siong Hung continued with his dominance in yesterday’s round after returning with a gross score of one over par 73 while Achmad Faini Nazaruddin from Indonesia was trailing with one stroke behind.

Both golfers are competing in the Boys’ Special category and have qualified for the grand finals to be held on Dec 1.

Those who qualified for the Girls’ Special category finals are Maria Rafaela Singson from the Philippines and Pang Hee Jie from MALGA after both golfers continued to maintain their forms in yesterday’s round.

The Boys’ A category leader, Joaquin Ethan Hernandez from the Philippines had qualified for the finals together with Daryl Low from Singapore, Lo Yung-Cheng, and Chen Yu Chin both of Chinese Taipei, Nopparut Pujan of Thailand, Edison Tabalin of the Philippines, Sri Ram Palaana and Kho Zheng Xi, both from Malaysia and Keeshaun Tan of Singapore.

The other two slots in the Boys’ A category were bagged by Abang Al Qayyoom of Malaysia and Irtaza Hussein from Pakistan.

Those who qualified for finals of Girls’ A category and Chulthida Seeman from Thailand together with team mate, Thitikarn Thapasit while the others are namely Jillian Kuk from Singapore, Aroba Ali from Pakistan, Sohniya Chandra of Malaysia, Sania Talita Wahyudi of Indonesia, and Tsai I-Ju of Chinese Taipei.

Shinichi Suzuki from the Philippines together with Athigun Vongpradit of Thailand had qualified for the Boys’ B category finals while Girls’ B category leader, Sophia Lin of Chinese Taipei, and Gemilau Joanne Kurnia of Indonesia are among the finalists.

The Boys’ C category finals will feature current leader, Bhumipat Changpraditcharoen of Thailand while Mohd Danish Danial of Malaysia are expected to give stiff competition during the finals. — DayakDaily