Sheda: Waive capital contributions from private developers to SEB

Sheda president Augustine Wong Chung Ho.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Sept 10: Sarawak Housing and Real Estate Developers’ Association (Sheda) is calling on the State government to consider waiving the capital contributions that private developers have to pay to Sarawak Energy Berhad (SEB).

According Sheda president Augustine Wong Chung Ho in a statement today, although the substantial increase in costs of building materials and labour as well as other compliance and implementation costs also affect private property developers, the private developers have no options but to continue building and delivering the units as promised.

He pointed out that the association looks forward to the state government’s steps in monetising state’s hydroelectric dam which can generate income that can be used for more development projects to propel local economic growth.

“Sheda is happy that the investments by State government and local stakeholders especially property developers in SEB over the years have finally turned a small utility company into a regional utility giant that is able to stand on its own and continue to generate income for people of Sarawak

“In view of the escalation of construction prices, Sheda would like to urge the state government to consider, among others, waiving the capital contributions that private developers have to pay to SEB during this economically challenging times,” he said.

Yesterday (Sept 9), the Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg said the Ministry of Utilities and SEB is exploring the ways to monetise the hydropower dams in the State by quantifying the value of hydroelectric power generated from turbine, floating solar panels and hydrogen from water.

Following the agreement signed by the Sarawak via Syarikat Sesco Berhad to supply electricity to Sabah on Aug 6, 2021, the Sarawak government is also in the process of negotiating a deal to supply power to Brunei Darussalam. — DayakDaily