School reopening in Kuching, Samarahan, Padawan postponed to Aug 17

Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas

KUCHING, July 29: Sarawak has postponed the reopening of all primary and secondary schools in Kuching, Samarahan and Padawan Districts to Aug 17, in view of the recent local transmission of Covid-19 cases.

Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah said this involved a total of 213 primary and secondary schools, with 87 in Kuching District, 99 in Padawan and 27 in Samarahan.

“Based on the advise from the Sarawak Health Department and agreed upon by Sarawak Education Department, the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) has decided that the reopening of schools in these three districts will be postponed again. The new reopening date will be Aug 17,” he said in a press statement today.

Uggah who is also SDMC chairman said this includes students from transition class, Form One to Form Four, Lower Six and primary One to Six classes.

“However, preschools, kindergartens, Form Five and Upper Six classes will go on as usual in the three districts,” he said.

Schools in other districts of Sarawak which were classified as green zones, resumed classes on July 15, as announced by the federal Education Ministry.

On July 14, SDMC decided to postpone the reopening of schools in the three districts to Aug 3 after several local transmissions were reported.

Yesterday, Kuching was categorised as red zone after it recorded 21 new positive cases, of which 16 were local infections.

In the last 14 days period, Kuching recorded a total of 53 local transmitted cases. — DayakDaily