PBDSB proposes Dayak Chief Minister by 2021 as part of state election manifesto

Rapelson Richard Hamit

SANTUBONG, March 9: Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB) has proposed a Dayak Chief Minister as part of the party’s manifesto for the 12th Sarawak State Election which must be held by the year 2021.

However, the party did not provide further details as to how it would achieve this.

According to a statement issued by PBDSB Youth Chief Rapelson Richard Hamit, Tan Sri Datuk Amar Stephen Kalong Ningkan was the first Dayak Chief Minister on Sarawak Independence Day, July 22, 1963 by the then Governor Sir Alexander Waddell. Stephen held the position until Sept 23, 1966.


Rapelson said Stephen was elected by the people but the latter’s government was brought down by Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud and Tun Abdul Rahman Ya’kub with the help of the federal government, then Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman and deprived of office by the then Sarawak Governor Tun Abang Openg (father of present Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg) and replaced by the second Dayak Chief Minister of Sarawak, Dato’ Sri Penghulu Tawi Sli. That period was also known as the Sarawak Constituition Crisis of 1966.

“PBDSB is honoring his services in fighting for Dayak and Sarawak. Although he and many of the Dayak fighters are no longer with us, Dayakism and the Sarawak spirit will not fade and will be continued by Gen Y. Thus, PBDSB is the relevant party in championing a Dayak as the Sarawak Chief Minister and also the resolution of Dayak issues such as Dayak Native Customary Rights (NCR) land, rural economic gaps, Dayak job opportunities in the public sector, restoring MA63 (Malaysia Agreement 1963), eradicating poverty among the Dayak people, and respecting Article 153 of the Federal Constitution.

“The Manifesto was fought since the Tanjong Datu by-election last year. Does PBB (Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu) offer what we offer — a Dayak Chief Minister and Dayak party president? We also offer 100 per cent power on oil and gas,” Rapelson said

Rapelson also said that PBDSB will announce its Women Movement in the near future and took the opportunity to wish all women a happy International Women’s Day which is celebrated on March 8 every year. — DayakDaily