PBB Telang Usan gears up for state election

Dennis (centre) with other distinguished guests at the gathering.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Brad Rantayy

MIRI, Jan 5: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Telang Usan has mobilised its election machinery to ensure sound victory in the coming 12th Sarawak election due 2021.

Its chairman Dennis Ngau, who is also Telang Usan assemblyman, said the party’s service centre in Luak Bay has been activated into the election operations room to assists voters within his constituency for the coming state polls.

“In the next 12 months ahead, we must be clear sighted at the current situation and be prepared for the election to ensure our party (Gabungan Parti Sarawak) and its components parties win,” he said at PBB Apoh Wanita New Year gathering here yesterday.

Dennis believed that PBB can secure bigger win if all component parties under the state-ruling GPS stand strong and united. The coalition consists of PBB, Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

“I need your total cooperation to ensure we win in this coming state election,” he said

Dennis advised all PBB Telang Usan election machinery to engage with the grassroot community to ensure strong support.

The PBB lawmaker said this time around, the nomination and voting centre for Telang Usan (N77) is likely to be carried out at Long Lama, instead of Marudi, following the completion of the Long Lama Bridge.

He said the 573m bridge project, completed and opened by chief minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg in Aug 8 last year, was fully funded by the state government at a cost of RM67.1 million.

With the bridge’s completion, it helps shortened travel time of some 37,000 population in Long Lama and its surrounding areas to Miri through Marudi, wit a distant of about 140km, he added.

In the 2016 state polls, Dennis retained his seat for the second term after garnering 3,231 votes to beat Roland Engan (3,064 votes) of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR). — DayakDaily