Muhyiddin’s cabinet line-up: No DPM but special post for Sabah-Sarawak rights

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, March 9: Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has unveiled his cabinet line-up, comprising senior ministers but without a deputy prime minister.

In a live broadcast press conference this evening, Muhyiddin said he has allocated four posts of senior ministers, which include a portfolio to look into the rights and interests of Sabah and Sarawak.

He disclosed that he restructured some of the ministries such as education and environment, while creating the special functions ministry.

Muhyiddin said all the cabinet ministers that he selected had gone through the vetting process from the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and the police.

“In the uncertain political situation now, I believe the rakyat is hoping that the government can find a solution to the problems that arise. Therefore, I am forming a cabinet which is able to solve some of the issues faced by the people and bring the country forward.

“As such, I have selected members who have integrity, capable, efficient, effective and have good quality in service delivery.

“It is a functional cabinet and give priorities to certain areas and my cabinet members are made up of experienced politicians, technocrats and those who have expertise in a particular field,” he said.

Muhyiddin explained that one of his priorities was to continue with the negotiation of the eroded rights of Sabah and Sarawak under the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

Sarawak has four MPs appointed full ministerial posts in the federal cabinet, namely Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof (Works), Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives), Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri (Tourism, Arts and Culture) and Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs).

Meanwhile, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd’s chief executive officer, Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Tengku Aziz, has been appointed Finance Minister.

Muhyiddin said Tengku Zafrul will first be appointed as senator before taking up his role as the finance minister.

Other than that, the prime minister said he has restructured the Education Ministry by bringing back the Higher Education Ministry. He has also formed a National Unity Ministry to strengthen the integration of the multicultural society in Malaysia.

Other ministers in the cabinet line-up included Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein (Foreign Affairs), Tan Sri Annuar Musa (Federal Territories), Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (International Trade and Industry), Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin (Home Affairs) and Zuraida Kamaruddin (Local Government and Housing).

Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) has two representatives in the federal cabinet, whereby party president Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong appointed Transport Minister and Datuk Seri Wee Jeck Seng appointed Deputy Minister of Primary Industries and Commodities.

Muhyiddin said all the ministers will be taking their oath at Istana Negara tomorrow. — DayakDaily