Mandatory quarantine for Malaysians arriving in Sarawak to start Aug 1

A Malaysia Airlines Boeing airplane takes to the skies. File Pic/Photo: Pixabay

Editor’s note: Headline amended to better reflect details added to the original story.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, July 26: Malaysian arrivals on board flights from West Malaysia, Labuan and Sabah are required to undergo 14-day quarantines at their final destination in Sarawak.

This was revealed by the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today, which also read that Covid-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests would be conducted on the returnees on the second day of the quarantine at designated hotels.

If the test results return negative, the individual would be allowed to return home. This instruction is effective from August 1 to 14, 2020.

As for Sarawakian returnees from overseas in transit flights from West Malaysia, Labuan, Sabah, Brunei and Singaopore, the previous instructions from SDMC was to undergo compulsory quarantine for 14 days at the final destination and to be swabbed on the second and 10th day.

On a related issue, SDMC gave assurance that the Ministry of Health (MoH) would increase the rate of Active Case Detection (ACD) in the Sentosa area due to the increasing number of cases from the Sentosa cluster.

The Sentosa cluster recorded a new positive case today, detected from close contact tracing which makes it a total of 21 cases from the cluster as of today.

There is presently a total of nine active clusters in the state with no increase in cases in other clusters. No new clusters were reported today. — DayakDaily