Kota Samarahan now Covid-19 red zone after case numbers reach 41

Abdul Karim addressing the media at the press conference at Wisma Bapa Malaysia. Screenshot taken from Sarawak Public Communications Unit (UKAS) broadcast.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, April 5: Kota Samarahan has witnessed a rise in Covid-19 positive cases which has pushed the division into the red zone.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) deputy chairman Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah revealed that there were 41 Covid-19 positive cases reported in Kota Samarahan.

“The cases are from Desa Ilmu, Tanjung Bundong, Muara Tuang, Uni Garden and Sadong Jaya.

“Based on locality, there are also 163 positive cases in Kuching,” he said during a press conference to give updates on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak at Wisma Bapa Malaysia here.

Abdul Karim was representing SDMC chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas who is in self-quarantine at home due to his exposure to a close contact Covid-19 patient recently.

As of April 3, Kota Samarahan has witnessed 18 Covid-19 positive cases detected at Desa Ilmu, Tanjung Bundong and Muara Tuang.

Areas such as Uni Garden and Sadong Jaya have added 23 more positive cases.

Red zone is classified as an area where there are 41 cases and above while orange zone are for one to 40 cases while green zone is for zero cases.

At the same time, red zone is considered high risk, orange zone is medium risk while green zone is low risk.

Abdul Karim noted that at present, Kapit is the only state division which is classified as green zone.

As for the state’s other red zone, Kuching, Abdul Karim noted that there had also been a steady increase in the number of positive Covid-19 cases there.

He disclosed that there were 163 positive cases in Kuching.

They include those in Semariang, Satok, Taman Sri Wangi, Zone One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven and Demak Laut.

With more areas within each zone recording Covid-19 infections, the number of positive cases increased to 163 today as compared to 107 recorded as of April 3.

Meanwhile, the divisions which are orange zones are Serian, Sri Aman, Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Mukah, Bintulu, Miri and Limbang. — DayakDaily