Ik Pahon reelected DBNA president

Ik Pahon (centre) in a group photo with DBNA office bearers 2020-2022 after the TGA.

KUCHING, Sept 27: Deputy State Secretary Datu Ik Pahon Joyik was reelected as president of Dayak Bidayuh National Association (DBNA) during the association’s 9th triennial general assembly (TGA) yesterday (Sept 26).

He won the post uncontested in the election of office bearers for the term 2020-2022 during the TGA which was held at the association’s headquarters in Jalan Kumpang here.

His re-election meant that Ik Pahon now leads DBNA for the sixth consecutive term, while the rest of DBNA office bearers for 2020 to 2022 saw a mixture of old and new faces filling up the posts.

Bau district education officer Charlie Ungang retained his post as deputy president, after garnering the highest number of votes in a three-cornered contest.

Associate Professor Dr Kismet Hong Ping and a senior lecturer Dr Clarence Jerry are the two new vice presidents.

Joseph Jindy Peter Rosen was also retained as a vice president. A total six persons had vied for the three vice president posts.

The secretary general post was retained by lawyer Jubilant Austinway after winning in a two-cornered contest.

Andrew Joris Noyen is the new treasurer general. The former Padawan Municipal Council (PMC) secretary also won a two-cornered contest for the post.

Senorita Senong is the new assistant secretary general after she was declared unopposed for the post.

Also newly elected is James Nahar, after he won a straight fight for the post of assistant treasurer general.

Atok Derop was elected as the new cultural officer, while Samuel John was returned unopposed as the information officer.

Meanwhile, the election for the eight ordinary supreme council member posts saw four new faces being elected.

The new faces are John Riba Marin, Shirley Kho, Dr Paul Tulik and Kencha Dewok, while the other four who were retained were Billy Sujang, Bronnie Marshall, Capt Bernard Idit and Mejun Abang.

John Wayne Chamberlin from the State Attorney General’s Chambers presided as returning officer for the election, and he was assisted by Boniface Anat.

After the election, the TGA resolved to reappoint Datuk Seri Michael Manyin Jawong as DBNA chief advisor and to appoint Lansy Johan as internal auditor.

Some 120 delegates and observers from DBNA’s 20 branches including from as far as Klang Valley attended the TGA.

The TGA also discussed resolutions from the branches which mainly touched on land issues and other matters affecting the Bidayuh community.

The RM16 million DBNA community hostel project, expected for completion in 2022 is set to be the Bidayuh community’s newest landmark in the city.

The first part of the funding for the project by the state government was already handed over by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg on Sept 3 this year.

A welcoming dinner and official opening ceremony for the TGA was held the previous night.

It was officiated by Manyin, who is also Minister of Education, Science and Technological Research, and also attended by several Bidayuh assemblymen.-DayakDaily