GE14: Nearly 15 mln Malaysians eligible to vote on May 9

Tan Sri Mohd Hashim Abdullah

KUCHING, April 10: A total of 14,940,627 eligible Malaysians will decide the next government when they go to the polls on May 9.

The announcement was made by the Election Commission (EC) today.

In a press statement, EC chairman Tan Sri Mohd Hashim Abdullah said that nominations for the 222 parliamentary and 587 state seats have been set for April 28.

The 13th Malaysian Parliament was dissolved on April 7, to pave the way for 14th General Election (GE14).

The dissolution was announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak after receiving consent from the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V.

Military and police personnel (300,255 people), as well as voters living abroad (3,653) will go for early voting on May 5.

Political parties has been given 11 days to campaign and a total of 259,391 election workers will be on duty for this GE14.

There will be a total of 8,898 polling centres and 28,995 polling streams.

For this GE14, the EC has invited 14 countries as international observers, comprising representatives of election bodies from ASEAN members, the Commonwealth, Asia and Europe, as well as a research and support centre for
election management based in Cambridge, United Kingdom.

These international observers are allowed to make observations in nomination centers, early voting stations, voting centres, polling places and the official counting of votes centres.

Meanwhile, voters’ list are also available for sale from April 16.

Voters can also check their respective polling centres and polling stations through the EC website or via SMS by typing MYSPR SEMAK and send to 15888.

For this GE14, Sarawak will not hold its state elections, which has 82 state constituencies as its state elections was held on May 7, 2016. — DayakDaily