Former PBK members join PBDS

Bobby William

By Brad Rantayy

MIRI, Sept 8: Eight of the G9 who left Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) on September 1, are officially joining Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak (PBDS).

They are Kenneth Adan Silek, Ignatius Joseph Bunsuan, Sylvester Embuas, Robert Saweng, Leo Bunsu, Baba Empran, Jeffry Unggat and Lingga Atok.

Their applications to join PBDS had been accepted by party president Bobby William and his supreme council committee.

Dr Elli Luhat who was also part of the G9 had already joined PBDS earlier.

Their former party comrades called G30+ are expected to follow soon, a statement from PBDS said.

On behalf of the G9 and their comrades, Kenneth Adan thanked PBDS for accepting them into the party as they share common visions and missions.

PBDS in the statement described today as a historic day and that PBDS headed by a Dayak is preparing to contest in more than 50 State seats consisting of rural Dayak-majority seats, mixed suburban seats, and certain grey areas in this coming 12th State Election.

“To all Dayaks, PBDS candidates fully subscribe to the noble cause of PBDS, heard your cries and saw your struggles and hardships,” the statement added.

“No other people know you better than Dayaks in PBDS. Let us put our political alliances and differences aside, and unite supporting PBDS to free and restore Sarawak’s status and pride as a country equal partner (sic) with Sabah and Malaya forming Malaysia as duly written in the much talked MA63 (Malaysia Agreement 1963).”

Dayaks as the majority ethnic group in Sarawak must take leading political roles in shaping a better future for Sarawak as a country of choice for generations to live and work in, instead of skilled workers and professionals migrating to other countries and cities, the statement added.

“PBDS will stand strong for all Sarawakians, races and beliefs, particularly, Dayak’s wellbeing and faith as our top priority.

“We are also open to work with any opposition parties and like-minded people to form a united front to challenge Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) in this 12th State Election.” — DayakDaily