Five councils to take part in inaugural State-level Earth Hour in Sibu tomorrow

File photo for illustration purposes only. Photo credit: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By William Isau

SIBU, March 25: Sibu Municipal Council (SMC) will be hosting the inaugural State-level Earth Hour tomorrow, which will be participated by four other councils— Kuching South City Council (MBKS), Padawan Municipal Council (MPP), Sibu Rural District Council (SRDC), and Miri City Council (MCC).

The five councils will observe the event simultaneously tomorrow (March 26) for one hour from 8.30pm to 9.30pm.

Speaking at a press conference, SMC chairman Clarence Ting said the idea of getting the other councils to participate in the event was mooted last year.

“Last year, we invited Deputy Premier of Sarawak, Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian, to join in on this event. Then I suggested that the other councils should also join,” he said.

Ting said this year’s Earth Hour is very special as it will be celebrated Statewide and was happy that SMC will host this inaugural event.

“We are so happy as other councils are joining us. This year SMC is the organiser, and we hope next year, Kuching will take over followed by Miri in the year after that,” he said.

SMC was the first local authority in the State to observe Earth Hour starting from 2008.

Earth Hour started in Sydney, Australia, in 2007 which encourages individuals, communities, and businesses to switch off their non-essential lights for one hour on a specific day towards the end of March as a symbol of commitment to the planet. — DayakDaily