Dr Sim: TYT has approved new councillors’ list

Dr Sim Kui Hian

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, July 26: Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian revealed that the new councillors’ list has been approved by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud last night.

“The list of new councillors has been approved by TYT last night,” said Dr Sim when met by the media at African Swine Fever (ASF) Meeting chaired by Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas at Wisma Bapa Malaysia today.

“The appointment of ‘mayorship’ has yet to be approved,” he added without elaborating on the mayorship of which councils.

Except for the mayorship of Kuching South City Council (MBKS) and Kuching North City Commission (DBKU), the terms of chairpersons and councillors of all 24 councils in Sarawak had expired on June 30.

It was thus prominent for a new batch of about 700 councillors and their chairpersons be appointed soon to ensure the smooth running of the daily operations of the local government.

This appointment will be for two years.

Following the recent political development of Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), in which its president who was also the Second Finance Minister, Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh’s resignation from the cabinet, it is expected that the formerly Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS)-friendly party will be left out of the new councillors’ list.

As for council chairmanship, it was believed that the list approved by the Cabinet on July 11 was one where there was no change in the chairpersons of Padawan Municipal Council (MPP), Kota Samarahan Municipal Council (MPKS), Miri City Council (MCC) and Sarikei District Council (SDC).

MPP was chaired by Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang; MPKS by Datuk Peter Minos while Adam Yii and Wong Zee Yang led MCC and SDC respectively.

However, with the Governor has yet to endorse the “mayorship”, thus there is now uncertainties hanging over the leadership of these urban and semi-urban councils.— DayakDaily