Critical Covid-19 cases climb to 18 today as Sarawak registers 750 infections

Covid-19 (file photo).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Oct 22: Eighteen Covid-19 cases or 2.40 per cent of the new Covid-19 cases reported today are classified as being in critical condition as Sarawak registered 750 daily infections today — a slight increase from the 725 cases reported yesterday.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement said of the 18 cases, four patients (0.53 per cent) who developed pneumonia but can still breathe on their own are in Category 3, eight patients (1.07 per cent) in Category 4 need oxygen supply, while six Category 5 patients (0.80 per cent) need a ventilator to breathe.

Meanwhile, the remaining 732 new cases or 97.60 per cent are in Category 1 (no symptoms) and Category 2 (mild symptoms).

“There are 248 cases (33.07 per cent) in Category 1 while 484 cases (64.53 per cent) are in Category 2,” it said.

SDMC also disclosed that by district, Kuching took the lead in terms of numbers with 217 cases, followed by Miri (143), Sibu (97), Bintulu (53), Serian (44), Limbang (37), Lawas (22), Kapit (13), Sarikei (11), Betong (11), Samarahan (11) and Sri Aman (10).

Districts registering less than 10 new cases are Meradong (9), Kanowit (8), Belaga (7), Saratok (6), Bau (6), Song (6), Subis (5), Kabong (4), Simunjan (4), Julau (4), Tebedu (4), Selangau (4), Marudi (3), Asajaya (3), Dalat (2), Sebauh (2), Pakan (1), Telang Usan (1), Bukit Mabong (1) and Beluru (1).

Eight other districts comprising Mukah, Daro, Pusa, Matu, Lundu, Tatau, Tanjung Manis and Lubok Antu Song did not record any new cases today.

On Covid-19 deaths, 18 new fatalities were reported, bringing the death toll in Sarawak to 1,179.

SDMC said there were no new clusters declared in Sarawak and three clusters have ended, namely the Sungai Pana Cluster in Beluru, Sungai Merusa Cluster in Subis and Kanawa Baram Cluster in Marudi.

With this, there are currently a total of 42 active clusters in Sarawak. — DayakDaily