Because of GPS, Sarawak now has more autonomy than 5 years ago

Uggah delivering his speech during the 15th PBB Convention at BCCK today (June 19, 2022).

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, June 18: Because of GPS, Sarawak is now able to enjoy more autonomy as compared to five years ago, says Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) deputy president Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas.

“In the last five years, Sarawak has never enjoyed as much autonomy as we had before. This is all thanks to GPS, Gabungan Parti Sarawak,” he said.

After the fall of the Barisan Nasional (BN) government in 2018, he said, BN component parties in Sarawak including PBB had to reconsider their direction, which led to the decision to leave BN and form GPS.

He said GPS is a local Sarawak party led by Sarawakians for the people of Sarawak, and that is why GPS is able to protect Sarawak’s rights.

Being able to fulfill this promise to the people, Uggah said this is one of the reasons that GPS could win big in the 12th Sarawak State Election (PRN12) last December.

“At the same time five years ago, we were also very excited that many development projects in Sarawak could be expedited,” he added.

He said the GPS-led Sarawak government under the leadership of Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg had taken things into its own hands, especially in terms of funding for the development of Sarawak.

Up until today, there are five development agencies namely the Northern Region Development Agency (NRDA), Upper Rajang Development Agency (URDA), Highland Development Agency (HDA), Integrated Regional Samarahan Development Agency (IRSDA), and Sri Aman Development Agency (SADA), established for local development purposes.

Uggah said each development agency has been allocated RM1.5 billion to implement development projects in respective regions.

“So now you can see many roads, bridges and so on being built in the whole of Sarawak,” he said during the 15th PBB Convention launching ceremony at BCCK here today.

Among other dignitaries also present were Sarawak Premier cum PBB president Abang Johari, Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian, Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Datuk Joseph Salang, Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) president Dato Sri Tiong King Sing, PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, PBB senior vice presidents Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof and Datuk Amar Michael Manyin Jawong, PBB permanent chairman Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Nasar, PBB secretary general Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi, PBB Women chief Dato Sri Fatimah Abdullah, and PBB Youth chief Miro Simuh. — DayakDaily