119 Covid-19 red zones identified in Sarawak

Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, March 29: Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah today disclosed a total of 119 Covid-19 red zones which have been identified throughout Sarawak.

Uggah who is also the State Disaster Management Committee chairman said Kuching had the highest number of red zones, at 69.

“Other hotspots include 16 in Samarahan, nine (9) in Miri, eight (8) in Betong, six (6) in both Sarikei and Limbang, and five (5) in Bintulu,” he said in a press conference here today.

Apart from that, Uggah also noted that 10 yellow zones have also been listed, which include three in both Serian and Sibu, and one (1) each for Mukah, Matu, Lawas and Simunjan.

On another matter, Uggah said that all offshore oil and gas workers from outside Sarawak must be quarantined for 14 days upon arrival.

He said the decision was made by the committee to ensure that they do not become Covid-19 carriers.

“The committee have decided that all offshore workers in the oil and gas field from outside Sarawak must undergo a 14-day quarantine in Sarawak before going to their rigs,” he said.

At the same time, Uggah also reminded the public that traveling between districts in the state is still prohibited.

“However, an exception for emergency cases will be given by each district,” he said. — DayakDaily