Yellow zone status for Kanowit, Kuching, Miri, Sibu continue to see rise of local infections

Uggah giving updates on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Jan 15: Kanowit today becomes one of the Covid-19 yellow zones in the state while Kuching, Sibu and Miri red zones continue to see the rise of 52 local cases.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, thus, reported a total of 11 yellow zones in the state while Meradong was converted to a green zone.

Other than Kanowit, the rest of the Covid-19 yellow zones are Lubok Antu, Sarikei, Limbang, Beluru, Dalat, Selangau, Samarahan, Sri Aman, Bukit Mabong and Bintulu.

Kuching, Sibu and Miri now have a total of 638 local transmission cases in the past 14 days.

For the same period of time, Sebauh, the only orange zone in Sarawak reported 23 local transmission cases.

On active clusters in the state, four clusters remain without any increase in cases which are the Bukit Sekubong, Keranji Tabuan, Bah Sayap and Mador Clusters while the rest reported additional patients.

The Pasai Cluster recorded the highest increase of 48 local cases today, thus making the total cases to be 510.

“A total of 1,450 individuals have been screened where 907 were negative and 33 more are still awaiting laboratory test results,” said Uggah in the press conference on Covid-19 update today.

Adding on, he reported one new case each in the Jelita and Stutong Clusters. With that, he concluded a total of seven active clusters in Sarawak.—DayakDaily