Uggah: Don’t wrestle for candidacy, unite to help PBB win again in GE15

Uggah (centre), Fatimah (left) and Rentap (right) singing the PBB anthem.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui, Karen Bong & Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, June 17: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) deputy president Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas is urging PBB Women and Youth wing members to not grapple with each other for candidacy.

With the 15th General Election (GE15) just around the corner, he advised them to practice loyalty to the party and serve with enthusiasm, dedication, and integrity.

“I hope to see continuous support and cooperation from the PBB Women and Youth members for the candidates elected or appointed by the party.

“Let us stand shoulder to shoulder and hold hands in this coming fight. Nothing is impossible for us to achieve together,” he said when officiating at the PBB Women and Youth wings general assembly at BCCK here today.

Uggah, who is also Deputy Premier of Sarawak cum Minister for Infrastructure and Port Development, said the PBB Women and Youth wings play a vital role in the party’s preparation for GE15.

He urged them to study PBB’s success stories in past elections and lay out the winning factors as well as the party’s weaknesses.

“We must study so that we can improve. We have to prepare ourselves,” he added.

Reminding his audience of GPS’ landslide victory of winning 76 out of 82 Sarawak seats in last State election, Uggah said it was the spirit of unity that had contributed to the success including PBB’s own win of all 47 seats contested.

He said although many wished to contest for PBB at the time, when the final candidate list was decided by top leaders, all members came together harmoniously to secure seats for the party.

“All worked together to make sure that PBB candidates win, and we did win. That is the culture that makes us strong and ensure we continue to win,” he said.

Among other dignitaries also present were PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, PBB senior vice presidents Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof and Datuk Amar Michael Manyin Jawong, PBB permanent chairman Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Nasar, PBB secretary-general Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi, PBB Women chief Dato Sri Fatimah Abdullah, and PBB Youth chief Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu. — DayakDaily