Surge in Covid-19 cases due to interzone travel, Uggah urges public to stay put during Aidilfitri

Uggah (second left) together with the police, army and Rela personnel monitoring traffic at the Engkilili checkpoint.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, May 9: The surge of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak is partly due to travelling between different zones.

Thus, Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas reminded Sarawakians not to travel between zones to return to their hometowns especially for the upcoming Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebration.

He highlighted there are still many Covid-19 red zones and areas with positive cases in Sarawak.

“It is our duty to protect our family members and our neighbours and everyone well. By not visiting them now, especially if we come from a red zone area, we are protecting them.

“Similarly, we are also protecting ourselves if we come from a green zone; do not go into a red zone area,” he said in a statement today.

Uggah pointed out that interzone travelling is off-limits without police permits from May 7 until midnight on May 17.

Meanwhile, Uggah who is also the Deputy Chief Minister visited two checkpoints near Engkilili and Balai Ringin located along the Pan Borneo Highway to witness in person enforcement of the travelling ban which is among measures to curb the transmission of Covid-19.

Uggah who is also the Second Finance Minister said he was pleased that Sarawakians were complying well with the interzone travel ban and he was happy with the commitment shown by the police, military and The People’s Volunteer Corps (Rela) personnel in mounting checkpoints along the Pan Borneo Highway.

“I am also coming to show our appreciation to our security people manning the posts. They are doing a very important role to help in stopping the spread of Covid-19.

“On the whole, I am finding our people are complying well with the interzone travelling ban.

“There are a smaller number of private vehicles travelling along the highway despite the upcoming Hari Raya celebration and the public holidays beginning this Thursday (May 13),” he added.

However, he said travelling for essential services (economic and industries), official government duties and in emergencies (medical treatment, death and others) are allowed.

Apart from that, Uggah pointed out the State is now divided into 16 zones.

They are the Kuching Zone comprising Kuching, Samarahan and Serian Divisions, Sri Aman Zone covering Sri Aman Division, Betong Zone (Betong Division), Sarikei Zone (Sarikei Division), Sibu Zone (Sibu District), Mukah Zone (Mukah Division), Bintulu Zone (Bintulu Division), Kapit Zone (Kapit Division) and the Limbang Zone (Limbang Division).

Besides, in the northern region of Sarawak, there are Miri Zone (Miri District), Beluru Zone (Beluru District), Subis Zone (Subis District), Telang Usan Zone (Telang Usan District) and Marudi Zone (Marudi District).

There are also the Kanowit Zone (Kanowit District) and Selangau Zone (Selangau District).

Accompanying Uggah during his inspection at the two checkpoints was a political secretary to the Chief Minister Dr Richard Rapu. — DayakDaily