SUPP Youth chief: No need for party to amend constitution as minimum age to join has always been 18

Michael Tiang (file photo)

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Jan 11: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) will not need to amend the party’s constitution to lower the age requirement to become members as the minimum eligible age to join the party has always been 18.

SUPP Youth chief Michael Tiang emphasised that the Youth Section does not need to amend its age limit to cater for younger members. Instead, they would develop more activities for those between 18 and 25.

“From the very beginning, the age qualification to become a SUPP member is always 18. Therefore, our Youth Section does not need to amend our age limit to allow youngsters to join us,” he said in a statement today.

Tiang, who is also Assistant Minister for Public Health, Housing and Local Government, responded to Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu’s (PBB) decision to change its constitution to establish a new wing to cater for members aged 18 to 28.

Given the implementation of Undi18, he pointed out that the party would need to reach out to the younger generation whose aspirations, needs, and interests are different.

“The party would also work to expose young people to public service through various platforms.

“As youths are future leaders, it is essential to groom them, and exposure to public service is vital to enable the young to see how the government and society works.

“This will better equip them for future leadership roles that they will undertake,” he added.

Meanwhile, PBB president Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg revealed that the party’s constitution would be amended at its triennial general meeting (TGM) in June for the new wing to be formed.

The Chief Minister emphasised that the new wing reflected PBB’s dynamism in adjusting to the aspirations of youths and Sarawakians at large. As such, their active participation in managing society is important.

A new committee jointly chaired by Sibuti MP Lukanisman Awang Sauni and Tupong assemblyman Fazzrudin Abdul Rahman had been set up to oversee the formation of the new wing, including deciding its name. — DayakDaily