Speculations abound Bidayuh-majority seats to be hotly contested in state polls

Choice. — DayakDaily.com file pic. //Photo: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Peter Sibon

KUCHING, May 16: The eight Bidayuh-majority seats are speculated to be a very crowded affair in the next Sarawak election, which is due in 2021.

According to a WhatsApp message that has been circulating among the Bidayuh community, Opar will feature a fight between incumbent Dato Ranum Mina of Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Francis Teron of Pakatan Harapan-Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PH-PKR), Niponi Undek from Gabungan Parti Sarawak-Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (GPS-SUPP) and Stephen Satagas Sagir of Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK).

For Tasik Biru, the tussle is rumoured to be between incumbent Dato Henry Harry Jinep (GPS-Progressive Democratic Party or PDP), Andy Gines (PH-Democratic Action Party or DAP), Anthony Jinge or Michael Lasau (PSB) and Alim Mideh (party unconfirmed).

In Serembu, word from the grapevine is that incumbent Miro Simuh (GPS-PBB) will face Anthina Sim (PH-PKR), Dahim Nadot (PSB) and Lingam Monot (PBK).

For Mambong, the possible candidates are incumbent Datuk Dr Jerip Susil (PSB), Sanjan Daik (PH-DAP), Andrew Puro (Sarawak Baru-Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru), Mangan Ngandok (PBK), Ahkim Sarok or Jimson Jium (GPS-SUPP) and Datuk Detta Samen (GPS-Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu or PBB).

In Tarat, the WhatsApp message predicted the fight would be between incumbent Datuk Roland Sagah (GPS-PBB), Willie Mongin (PH-PKR), Robert Tella Gunjom (PBDSB), Presley Siros or Douglas Jipau (PSB) and Lebanon Ero (PBK).

Four candidates are named for Tebedu, namely Dr Sinang Bada or Dr Alim Impira (GPS-PBB), Reginald Abell (PH-PKR) and Anthony Nais (PBDSB).

For Kedup, there are only two possible candidates: Martin Ben (GPS-PBB) and Dr Ambrose Dango (PH-PKR).

As for Bukit Simuja, incumbent John Ilus (GPS-PBB), Edward Luwak (PH-DAP) and Senior William Rade (PSB) are expected to step into the ring.

When contacted, Alim Mideh, who is a member of Sarawak Association for Peoples’ Aspiration (Sapa) and currently its secretary of the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63) monitor, a sub-committee of SAPA, said his priority was to fight for Sarawak’s rights.

“As a nationalist, I am more committed to fighting for the rights of Negara Sarawak. Let’s leave politics to our politicians.

“I urge all Bangsa Sarawak to join hands with Sapa to continue to fight for the rights of Negara Sarawak,” said Alim.

Meanwhile, Dr Alim Impira said he was happy that his name was mentioned as a potential candidate.

“I hope it will become a reality as not everybody can get their names mentioned,” said Dr Alim, who is currently the deputy director of Customs Department, Sabah.

Meanwhile, apart from this list that is in circulation, another list has also gone viral.

The second list has even more names being mentioned for each constituency.

Names such as former Mas Gading MP Datuk Dr Tiki Life was mentioned to be the candidate of Bersatu (Parti Pribumi Malaysia Bersatu), while former PKR candidate for Tebedu, Dr Christopher Kiyui, is being speculated to make a comeback for the same seat.

In addition, acting PBDSB president Patrick Anek Uren is rumoured to be planning to give Opar another shot. — DayakDaily