School in Julau declared as latest rabies outbreak area

KUCHING, Dec 30: SMK Julau No. 1, in Julau, Sarikei has been declared as the latest rabies outbreak area.

Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said today, this brings the total number of rabies-infested areas in the state to 27.

According to the committee, the latest outbreak is located outside the 10km radius of locations that has been earlier declared as rabies-infested areas.

The committee will hold a special meeting on Jan 2, 2018, which will be chaired by Uggah to discus further steps and strategies to curb rabies outbreaks in other areas.

Meanwhile, four out of five samples from dogs had tested positive through the Direct Fluorescent Antibody Test (DFA) for the rabies virus.

The positive cases are from the following areas which are still classified as epidemic:

1) No. 68, Lot 549, Lorong Ketitir 1, Batu Kawa Road, Kuching.
2) Taman Sri Makmur, Batu 6, Jalan Matang, Kuching.
3) Kampung On Singai, Bau, Kuching.
4) Block A13, Malihah Park Flat, Matang Road, Kuching.

A total of 309 samples consisting ofsamples from 282 dogs, 25 cats and 2 bats were sent to VRI, Ipoh for the rabies virus test. So far 62 samples from dogs and six samples from cats were confirmed positive for rabies virus through DFA, Polymerase Change Reaction (PCR) and Rabies Tissue Culture Infection Test (RTCIT)

The 27 areas and specific locations that have been classified as having Epidemic Rabies in three Divisions are:

Serian Division— Kampung Krait, Kampung Paon Rimu, Kampung Paon Rimu Bakung, Kampung Remun, Kampung Lebor, Kampung Saroban, Kampung Tangga, Kampung Ampungan, Kampung Mentong Berawan, Kampung Mentong Silaga, Kampung Engkabang, Kampung Tampek Sumpas, Kampung Rasau, Pekan Siburan, Bandar Serian, Batu 45, Kuching-Sri Aman, Kampung Temong Mura Tebedu, Kampung Entubuh Tebedu, Kampung Kuala Serian, and Kampung Telagus Legai;

Sri Aman Division — Rumah Janta Munggu Mawang;

Kuching Division — Batu 5, Jalan Semeba, Sungai Maong Wet Market, Kampung Serikin Bau, and Taman Alamanda Indah Matang;

Samarahan Division — Kampung Harley Davidson Asajaya; and

Sarikei Division: SMK Julau No. 1, Julau Sarikei. — DayakDaily